top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEzioma Kalu

Book Review: Honey and Spice by Bolu Babalola.

Sharp-tongued (and secretly soft-hearted) Kiki Banjo has just made a huge mistake. As an expert in relationship-evasion and the host of the popular student radio show Brown Sugar, she's made it her mission to make sure the women of the African-Caribbean Society at Whitewell University do not fall into the mess of "situationships", players, and heartbreak.


But when the Queen of the Unbothered kisses Malakai Korede, the guy she just publicly denounced as "The Wastemen of Whitewell," in front of every Blackwellian on campus, she finds her show on the brink.


They're soon embroiled in a fake relationship to try and salvage their reputations and save their futures. Kiki has never surrendered her heart before, and a player like Malakai won't be the one to change that, no matter how charming he is or how electric their connection feels.


But surprisingly entertaining study sessions and intimate, late-night talks at old-fashioned diners force Kiki to look beyond her own presumptions. Is she ready to open herself up to something deeper?


I've heard so much about this book since it was published last year. Everyone on Bookstagram and Booktok had something to say about it, and I desperately wanted to read it. So I listened to the audiobook version, this year.


It's a story about Kiki Banjo, a Nigerian British college student who is schooling in Whitewell College in the UK. She is a simple girl, always minding her business, and her greatest joy is her college radio program, The Brown Sugar Show, where she expresses herself and talks about women and sexuality and why they should know their worth, and shouldn't fall for players.


She, herself, believes she's a hard nut to crack, because she keeps her heart under lock and key, and doesn't just fall for any guy. Yes, she has had her own fair share of numerous one night stands, but she would never fall for a player. Never. She is sure of that.


But everything would change, when a renowned playboy, the transfer student, Malakai Korede, starts schooling in hers. And easily becomes every girl's dream. I mean two girls literally fight for him in public, shamelessly. That is how hot and sought after he is.


And I love the way the narrator describes Malakai as hot, smoking hot.


Kiki talks about him in her radio program, warning girls to stay away from the new player in town. Advising them to know their worth, and not talk any bullshit from no man.


But what's interesting is that she won't know what would happen to her, till her course advisor assigns Malakai to be her assistant in her program. And that is when the unexpected starts happening.


This book is a Romcom, and no matter how cheesy or cliché Romcom tropes may sound, I still love them, and I still get excited when I read or watch them. And in this case, listen to it.


I love the way Babalola uses language, she's funny and creative. I laughed so much on many occasions. And I love the way she uses 'moving mad' frequently.

"If she moves mad, I move madder."


But Kiki would get entangled with Kai, and the steamy romance we didn't know we needed, would start.


One thing would lead to another, and the almighty Kiki who is the president of 'Girls know your worth' association, will start falling for the sweet boy she warned her girls about.


And her entanglement with Kai would start off as a fake dating situation, till she hopelessly and helplessly falls, head first.


There are so many themes derivable from this book, like the theme of friendship, romance, love, rivalry and even betrayal.


I love the friendship between Aminah and Kiki. They're even more than friends, more like sisters. They have each other's backs and it was beautiful to see. I love reading books that celebrate female friendships.


Then there's the rivalry between Kiki and Simi. In that college, there are a lot of queen bees and cliques, and so everyone wants the spotlight to be on her.


The book started well for me, I loved the author's creative way of describing and narrating things.


And I also loved Kiki and Kai's situation. But it got boring at some point, and I got tired of hearing how much Kiki is in love with Kai and how much she needs him in her life. I think it became too much at some point, and I had to skip through some pages.


But it ended well, and I enjoyed listening to it. Weruche Opia did a great job narrating it, and her voice was so beautiful to listen to. I'd recommend this book to everyone. And I'll rate it as 4/5.


Have you read the book? What do you think about it? Please share your thoughts with me in the comment section.


Thank you for visiting Bookish Pixie. Please use the subscribe form below to subscribe to my blog, so you can be getting newsletters and alerted whenever I make a new post.



Honey and Spice by Bolu Babalola.
Honey and Spice by Bolu Babalola.

83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page